Skip to main content

Year 6 Disasters: Home

Natural disasters

Disasters

Definitions

Disaster (noun): a calamitous event, especially one occurring suddenly and causing great loss of life, damage, or hardship, as a flood, airplane crash, or business failure.

Natural disaster: any event or force of nature that has catastrophic consequences, such as avalanche, earthquake, flood, forest fire, hurricane, lightning, tornado, tsunami, and volcanic eruption

From Dictionary.com

General Websites

Simply Geology 

United States Geological Survey

Hazards Australia

NASA Earth Obseratory

Em-Dat - the International Disaster Database

ReliefWeb - Use the Disasters tab to search for your topic. This site looks at humanitarian issues.

US Archives

CBS News Disasters Links - there are many, many links here!

National Geographic 

Channel One site - covers all types of disasters. You can make a virtaul volcano, take quizzes and view the earthquake simulator here!

Earth Times - page on Natural Disasters

NOVA - use the search function to find information

Databases to Use

Access our databases by clicking on the eResources page link

in the Assignment Help tab at the Library Website.

Library Webs is a great starting place for websites related to disasters. Once you are in the database, do a search or choose a category.

 

Britannica School will give you authoritative information about disasters from many of its articles.

Video Databases

Brain Pop

Twig

 
   

These video databases can be found on the eResources page link in the Assignment Help tab at the Library Website.

 

Volcanoes

Volcanoes

Structure of the Earth

Here are the videos from the Structure of the Earth PowerPoint used in class.

Earthquakes

Watch this animation on how an earthquake occurs.

Quake Simulator

Make your own quake.

Stop Disasters Game

Stop Disasters Game