Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Books & Reading: Award-Winning Books

Check here often for the latest information on anything to do with books and reading.


The Top 10 reads:

1. Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

3. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

4. The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

5. The Lost Man by Jane Harper

6. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

7. Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

8. Just One Wish by Rachael Johns

9. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

10. Tidelands by Philippa Gregory

The 100 Most Popular Young Adult Books on Goodreads

Exciting YA books to look
out for in 2020

The Pulitzer Prizes

The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of Joseph Pulitzer, who had made his fortune as a newspaper publisher, and is administered by Columbia University.

The Booker Prizes

The Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over five decades. Each year, the prize is awarded to what is, in the opinion of the judges, the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK and Ireland. It is a prize that transforms the winner’s career.

The winner receives £50,000 as well as the £2,500 awarded to each of the six shortlisted authors. Both the winner and the shortlisted authors are guaranteed a global readership plus a dramatic increase in book sales. The International Booker Prize is awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s most prestigious literature prize. Established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin, the prize is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases. First presented in 1957, the Award helps to support authors and to foster uniquely Australian literature. Miles Franklin believed that “Without an indigenous literature, people can remain alien in their own soil."  She also had first-hand experience of struggling to make a living as a writer and was the beneficiary of two literary prizes herself.

The Stella Prize

The Stella Prize is a major literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing, and an organisation that champions cultural change.
Stella was created in 2012 to counter the gender bias rife in the Australian literary landscape at the time.  As an organisation, Stella seeks to:

  • recognise and celebrate Australian women writers’ contribution to literature
  • bring more readers to books by women and thus increase their sales
  • equip young readers with the skills to question gender disparities and challenge stereotypes, and help girls find their voice
  • reward one writer with a $50,000 prize – money that buys a writer some measure of financial independence and thus time, that most undervalued yet necessary commodity for women, to focus on their writing