Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Year 6 Independent Investigation: Home

Chose a country or topic to study in depth

There's a Rang Tan in my Bedroom

BGS Databases

Check out our BGS Databases by using the eResources tab at the top of the Library page.

Then click on the Middle School tab and you will databases especially selected for you.

 

General Websites

Use these websites as a starting point.

Search Engines

Here are a range of search engines for you to use. Remember: there IS more to web searching than Google!

Bibliography Help

There is a great deal of information on the APA CiteMaker tab on the Library page.

Use CiteMaker to generate your bibliography.

Science Links

Good or bad....the problem with internet sites

As you know, anyone can publish a website. This means that information you find on the net may not be reliable. Look at the video above to get some tips on what to check for when you are taking information for your research.

Remember to check the TLD (top level domain):

.edu - educational sites such as schools

.gov - government sites such as Department of Foreign Affairs

.com - commercial sites such as banks and shops

.org - sites from organisations such as charities

Asia Rising

Watch this introductory video about the rise of Asia and understand why we are learning about Asia this term.

The Kids Should See This

The Kid Should See This

Smart videos for curious minds of all ages!

This site connects you to a growing library of smart, short, and super-cool, “not-made-for-kids, but perfect for you” videos. See what you can find on your topic...or just browse.

KidsNews.com

Kids News is proudly supported by News Corp Australia, but it covers world wide topics and you can search for stories.

New articles are added each school day. All new content is featured at the top of the homepage.

The articles are divided into two main categories:

  1. News — covering current affairs, key curriculum topics, interesting stories about people, animals and things
  2. Sport — Australian and international sports events and people.

Numbeo

Numbeo is the world’s largest database of user contributed data about cities and countries worldwide. Numbeo provides current and timely information on world living conditions including cost of living, housing indicators, health care, traffic, crime and pollution.

If only...

If only search engines could understand what we want.

Not Quite a Search Engine!

These are some sites that have a wealth of information aimed at school students.

Media Sources

Find information in the media that relates to your topic. This is great for up-to-date information.