Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Savvy Scientists: Home

Investigate a famous scientist

undefined

Definitions

 Scientist (noun):

a person learned in science and especially natural science : a scientific investigator

 

Legacy (noun):

something transmitted by or received from an ancestor or predecessor or from the past: for example the legacy of the ancient philosophers

  From: http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary

Databases to Use

Access our databases by using the eResources tab of the Library Website.

Then choose the

Middle School tab.


Britannica Encyclopedia will give you authoritative information about scientists from many of its articles. 

Library Webs is a great starting place for websites related to different scientists. Once you are in the database, do a search or choose a category.

undefined

Try BrainPOP as well!

 

 

Cool Jobs

Useful Websites

Use this link to search a number of websites on famous scientists.

 

For Australian scientists try this site:

Interviews with Australian Scientists

Looking for explanations of the science you can understand? Try this site:

Ducksters - Science

Explora

Try out the Explora database on our eResources page.

undefined

Type in a search term and you can locate reliable resources. 

A good idea would be to tick some source types to give you a better result. On the left-hand side, tick books, biographies and encyclopedias to get more relevant results. You may even find there is a Topic Overview at the top of the results page.

Great Science Websites

undefined

Here are some websites about Science that you can explore:

How Stuff Works The site uses illustrations, charts, and graphs to explain the detailed workings of everything from light bulbs to weather phenomena, space craft to submarines, nuclear fission to how ice cubes melt. 

Exploratorium This website is an extension of the Exploratorium in San Francisco, which provides hands-on experiences to teach scientific concepts. Biology, physiology, earth science, engineering, and astronomy are some of the areas of focus.

Science Toys This is a collection of the best of old-school science projects for the current generation. You can make things ranging from a steamboat to a solar-powered marshmallow roaster. 

Bill Nye the Science Guy This site—which has a fantastic design, by the way— reinforces material that Bill Nye presents on his TV show. His style and humour entertains and educates at the same time.

Science News for Students This website explores science-related topics in the news. News items—such as the decline of the population of honeybees and how forensic science is used to solve crimes—are explained.

 

Try this too!

Quizzes about Scientists

 

Image from: http://www.picgifs.com/  

Worth a Look

Take a look at these interesting sites.

CiteMaker

Use the APA CiteMaker tab on the Library website to find this online bibliography generator tool. You might also want to revisit the tutorials.

undefined

How to cite a website

How to cite a book

For a Laugh