Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Year 12 Biology: Library Home

                    

Evidence must be obtained by researching scientifically credible sources.


Extra databases

These results are not included in MySearch results.

 

ProQuest eLibrary

Full text, includes books, magazines, journals, newspapers, photographs, transcripts, and videos.

How to use ProQuest eLibrary.

 


Search over 60 databases and 2,200 scientific websites to gain access to authoritative research and development results.

Research tip: Limit your search to 'full text'.


Research and data visualisations to make information about the world’s largest problems accessible and understandable..

 

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar picks up free open access scholarly papers, theses, books, and reports, similar to Web of Science.

Searches can be frustrating, as much of an article or book can be missing or must be purchased. Web of Science will find you the most complete and accurate version of open access articles. 

If we have the full text of an article in one of our databases, a link will show directing you to @BGS.

Research tip:  To get PDFs only, type in 'filetype:pdf'. 

Advantages / Disadvantages of Google Scholar


 

Google Book Search

Google Books

This can be very frustrating because often much of the book is missing and you are expected to purchase it to read the full content.

Research tip:  After you put in your search term (eg biodiesel), and get some results up, you should then go immediately to the search box (on the left - above 'About this box') undefined and type in a particular word or term you are interested in (eg CO2 emissions OR methanol) and a number of pages should pop up. You should get some good results this way.

How to use Google Books


    Your task 
       is to investigate one of the following claims:

 

  • Transgenic organisms offer a viable and effective future for human health.
     
  • Medical intervention is weakening the human gene pool.
     
  • CRISPR can be used to eradicate genetic disease in humans.

Search 12 different databases here

EDS Home

Find databases, books, articles, images and more.


 

  •   At school you should have automatic access.
  •   To access from home, you will need to register for an account. Click on the Login link, then the Register link. Use your school email as your username then create a strong password when prompted.
  •   See the instructions to the right for details on how to use Web of Science.

Web of Science™
   

Copyright 2014 Clarivate   


Credible Websites

 

 

 National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine 2016. Genetically Engineered Crops: Experiences and Prospects. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/23395.

 

  • Redesigning Life: How Genome Editing will Transform the World - EBSCO
     
  • Human Health - BIO.org
    Modern biotechnology provides breakthrough products and technologies to combat debilitating diseases. Innovative medicines and cures help people lead longer, healthier lives and positively impact society by providing economic value far beyond their cost. 
     
  • Being Human: The Ethics, Law and Scientific Progress of Gene Editing - JSTOR
    The central underlying ethical concern here is one that applies to any application of human genetic modification: that it may unintentionally change the genome forever.
     
  • Extending the Human Life Span - Journal of Medicine and Philosophy
    Genetic manipulation of the mechanisms of aging could over many generations alter the course of natural selection and shift the majority of deleterious mutations in humans from later to earlier stages of life. This could harm people in the distant future by making them more susceptible to premature disease and mortality.

 

 

Image source: Blomquist, J. (2019). Somatic gene editing compared to germline gene editing, Harvard Gazette. https://news.harvard.edu/gazette/story/2019/01/perspectives-on-gene-editing/


Evaluating information

Choosing credible and reliable information is critical.


 

How to use MySearch 


How to use Web of Science   


Cite your references

 

undefined

Citemaker is our recommended option for referencing your sources.
Save your references into subject folders, then export your reference list or bibliography to Word.


Alternatively, you can use
Charles Sturt University's
Academic Referencing Tool
 
to check that you have correctly formatted each of your references.


How to use CiteMaker

 

 


Email the Library staff if we can help with research assistance for any of your assignments.

library@brisbanegrammar.com